

# About the Kai Siegbahn Prize:

The Prize was established in 2009 in honour of Kai Siegbahn, founder of <u>Nuclear Instruments and Methods A (NIMA)</u>, who had a strong and lasting commitment to advancing synchrotron radiation science.

The Editorial Board of NIMA is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 award, and we are counting on you to help us identify potential honorees! We invite you to review the award criteria, and to nominate a worthy colleague.

All nominations should be submitted to the Committee Chair by March 31 2018:

### Prof. Fulvio Parmigiani, Kai Siegbahn Chair

Department of Physics, University of Trieste International Faculty, University of Cologne, Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A.

Email: fulvio.parmigiani@elettra.trieste.it

### Nomination criteria:

The Prize aims to recognize and encourage outstanding experimental achievements in synchrotron radiation research with a significant component of instrument development. Particular preference will be given to the development of synchrotron radiation spectroscopies.

## Rules and eligibility:

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities without regard to the geographical site at which the work was performed. Usually, the prize shall be awarded to one person but it may be shared if all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. The prize recipient should be 45 years old or younger at the time of selection.

Nominations are accepted from the NIMA advisory board, the NIMA board of editors, synchrotron radiation facility directors as well as from scientists engaged in synchrotron radiation science. Nomination packages should include a nominating letter, at least one supporting letter, a list of five papers on which the award is based as well as a proposed citation for the award.

#### Where:

The 2018 award shall be announced at the <u>International Synchrotron Radiation Instrumentation Conference</u> in Taiwan and will include an invited talk at the conference. The presentation of the award and the prize lecture will be hosted by Uppsala University and will take place in the Kai Siegbahn Lecture Hall in September 2018.

### Award:

The prize consists of 5000€ inclusive of the allowance for travel to the meeting at which the prize is awarded and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.

### 2018 Committee:

F. Parmigiani, Chair; W. Barletta, co-chair; Giacomo Ghiringhelli (Former 2015KS winner), Niels Mårtenson, Peter Johnson, Di-Jing Huang, Robert Schoenlein, Kiyoshi Ueda, Maria-Novella Piancastelli